Reasons to Give Thanks

 

OK so this should ideally have been where i was today but instead i spent the day at home with my two girls wishing i could just go to sleep so that tomorrow could be here already. i need to remind myself what i need to be thankful for. So in no particular order here we go:

My beautiful, healthy girls have to be number one on this list. Bitch and complain as much as i do about them they are my reason for being and very much so my reason for fighting. If it wasn’t for them God knows where i would have life lead me. 


My warm, cozy apartment. Always have to say thanks for the solid roof over my head. I work in a mission downtown where I’m surrounded by individuals that have no place to “go home” to. They literally walk around with their lives on their backs. I think we have a tendency of taking the four walls and roof that block out the wind, rain, snow and all other elements that are thrown at us (which here in Canada could be all of the ones listed in one day) for granted. 

I have to give thanks for my health, physical and mental. I’ve been on the verge of deteriorating both at so many points of my life that sometimes its surprising I’m still as stable as I am. 

This list can go on and on I suppose. We always tend to focus on all the negatives in our lives. All the ‘what ifs?’ and ‘if only…’ 

I for one need to sit down and remember what I have and look at how blessed I am for having it. It shouldn’t be something only done on a day completely dedicated to giving thanks, it should be done on a daily basis, at the start of each day. I’m sure if we all took a minute to do that it would give us a reason to get up every day, a reason to push on and strive forward. 

One thought on “Reasons to Give Thanks

  1. I loved your sentiments on this topic.I also do not believe in only taking aside ONE day to reflect on what I should be thankful for…which is why I’m not a big fan of thanksgiving holiday…and the commercialized fluff that comes with it.Hate to get preachy – but thats what prayer is for!

Leave a Reply

