As The Leaves Change

As time passes,
the leaves begin to change.

And when they do,
I reluctantly remember the pain.

Within each color of rich gold and earthy browns,

I remember words exchanged between us, which were once profound.

As I travel through the deep oranges and the fiery reds,

I attempt to let the autumn breeze blow away your image from my head.

As if the breeze that comes along with the Fall,

has heard my weary thoughts sad call.

While the wind whips leaves into the cool air,

I began to feel nostalgic wishing you were here.

The fallen leaves are no longer dry,
for along with the grey heavens, I begin to cry.

No matter how much strength I try to gain,

Your beauty always weakens me.

As the leaves change.

Leave a Reply

