Can’t Please Everybody

It’s crazy how sadness can morph into so many other awful feelings. Desperation, anxiety, anger, resentment, bitterness and so much more…feelings that I don’t think have a word in the human vocabulary to describe them. Feelings that if they could be described with noises it would be noises so unbearable to listen to you would break at the first note. Yesterday while speaking with my mom she said some things to me that made me realise just how incredibly lost I am…I don’t know myself, I dont have an identity…I just am. It wasn’t the things she said to me because quite frankly it was nothing new to hear, I already know I’ve become unapproachable, miserable, bitter, angry and so on and so forth. The part that got me reflecting is when I really didn’t give a shit. I don’t care if I’m all of those things because as far as I’m concerned nobody has helped me NOT to be those things. I turned into the person I’ve become because that’s what my life has turned me into, not because I chose it.

I understand that we all have control and its very easy to shoot blame outwards and by no means am I shooting blame out to anyone. Not even Him. I permitted certain things to influence my feelings, thoughts and attitude but with that said…I also felt that about 80% of the time, if not more, I had no control…I was weak. Nobody likes weak, the weak are exiled. I decided to take more control of myself, my life…nobody likes that either. This is the way that was easiest for me, by becoming who I am. Theres just no pleasing anyone is there?

“A sensible man knows you can’t please everybody. A wise man knows you can’t please anybody.”

Nikka Costa : Can’t Please Everybody

Bendin’ over backwards
You walk on shells like a prisoner
But it’s shaky ground when you livin’
in a house of cards

Your nerves are shot
You can barely cope
(You’re) spread so thin like a tightrope
Trippin’ over yourself to make sure
you never miss a mark

Don’t you know

You can’t please everybody
No you can’t please everybody
No matter how hard ya try

Whatcha lookin’ at me for
I used my tears to mop the floor
One stick one stone ain’t enough to make me fall apart

Somebody waits for you with a crown
And somebody else wants to take ya down
It don’t matter which side of the fence
that you choose to ride

Don’t you know

You can’t please everybody
No you can’t please everybody
No matter how hard ya try

You need someone to hold your hand
Someone to understand
But you tiptoin’ tryin’ to find it’s just a waste of time
So many people up in your face
Only hold ya back
Only slow your pace
You’ll lose it if ya keep on tryin’

Hey hey hey/ Don’t you know
You can’t please everybody
No you can’t please everybody
No matter how hard ya try

 

Leave a Reply

